No syrup? No jelly? Pass the pesto…

20120414-094231.jpg

I’m not usually all too creative when I cook.

I got the urge to make breakfast for hubby and me this morning though, but when I went to find syrup for pancakes, zilch.

Redo for tomorrow, I told him. Oh, and I’d try waffles instead. We got a waffle maker roughly 3 years ago – and I’ve never used it.

Putting the baking mix into one of those fabulous OXO containers (if you don’t have any, get some. Seriously. They’re worth the price), I realized I had about one cup too much to fit. About a half of what the recipe called for for waffles.

Mixed it all up and thought, let’s put some jelly in the batter, moisten them up a bit. No jelly.

But I see pesto.

Savory waffles. It works with crepes, why wouldn’t it work with waffles??

Let me tell you, it does.

For a half-recipe, less than a teaspoon mixed into the batter – maybe a little more next time? Sprinkled some shredded mozzarella on top, added a dollop of pesto (I do love the stuff). Yum.

I think I’ll be creative more often.

20120414-100204.jpg

One thought on “No syrup? No jelly? Pass the pesto…

  1. hahaha, i was just planning a post about a solution for a baking endeavor gone wrong.

    i love savory crepes, so i’ll have to give this a try- i love pesto!

What are you thinking?

