Books, babies, and bonding

Now that we are healthy again, things are back to normal. Sort of. Back to work, back to play, and a clingy baby – I think he was more traumatized by the separation than I thought he was. He is getting better, so we’ll see how the next few days go.

I have an idea for a book floating around in my head, but just the thought of it scares me. I have never read anything like it before. I don’t know if anyone would even want to read it. Don’t ask what it is, because right now, I don’t want to discuss the thought – it’s too fresh and new. I’m still processing. I’m trying to decide if it’s something I want to put down on paper, or if I just want it to continue floating through my consciousness. This is when I wish I had a recorder so I could “write” on my drive in to work.

I’ve been reading a ton lately. Just finished The Witness by Nora Roberts, one of my all-time favorite authors. I really enjoyed it, but thought it was a bit predictable. That’s never a good thing. Currently reading Crossed by Ally Condie – it’s the second in the Matched trilogy. Breezed through the first, and loving the second. They’re similar to The Hunger Games, in a way… not really in an apples to apples way. More like an apples to potatoes way. Subtle, but that’s about it. I would compare it more to The Giver by Lois Lowry than The Hunger Games.

I have also been reading children’s books a LOT. One thing I know for sure is that we need a different bookshelf. Half of little man’s books don’t stand up on his shelf. The other thing I know for sure is that I need to get more books. There are so many that I love that we don’t have yet. I have been reading to little man every night before bed, and I cherish the time. He won’t be little for long. I keep remembering that. When I’m frustrated because it’s taking him an hour to fall asleep, and I have been rocking him the whole time, I remember that he won’t be little and willing to snuggle forever. And we continue to rock and snuggle.

But I digress.

I am going to start slowly building up his book collection. We get book orders every month from daycare, but a lot of the books are nothing like I’m looking for. Or they’re princess books. Or Miley Cyrus. Both are equally bad for my little man. Or, well, less than ideal.

What is your favorite children’s book? What is your favorite adult book? Young adult/teen book? And why? I’m curious; I need to stretch my books-to-read queue.

What are you thinking?

