I always forget…

This time last year I was 6.5 months pregnant. One of the benefits of being pregnant was that, though I was affected by the heat and humidity because I was already baking, I was not affected the way I normally am: my joints didn’t offer me a lick of problems.

Fast forward a year, and this handsome little man…

The humidity is killing me. My hands and fingers are aching more than ever, and I just want to go home and sleep. I’m tired. I’m achy. I always said I wouldn’t use this as an area to complain. I’m not; I’m just stating a fact.

The humidity tends to exacerbate the pain I feel from Fibromyalgia and Ehlers Danlos Syndrome (Hypermobility), and not much will help completely. Working in an air-conditioned environment helps, and having the house stay nice and cool is also a huge benefit. A dehumidifier adds to the comfort as well. However, dry heat is the best solution. I’m not moving to Arizona, though.

Two summers ago I found a decent solution to alleviating some of the pain; I’ll be doing it again, and hope I can keep it up for good this time. I will be going gluten free. It worked then, it will (hopefully) work again. I would rather not live on painkillers and other medications; I was able to cut down to just my heartburn medication, and have stayed on just that for the majority of the time. I’m hoping the absence of gluten in my diet will keep my pain at bay, or at least subdue it. The fire can go away, thanks.

4 thoughts on “I always forget…

  1. Sorry your body is giving you trouble, and I seriously commend you for trying to avoid painkillers. I hope gluten free is the path to pain free!

    • Yeah, it’s not easy. I have done it multiple times, for varying lengths of time, ranging from a couple months to about 10 months. I only stopped eating gluten free that last time because I was losing too much weight when I was pregnant. I’m hoping it is easier this time, what with the greater availability of decent GF food.

What are you thinking?

