Quel horreur

When I was in France, I ate my share (and more) of French pastries. And it showed. My favorite pants became a bit snug, regardless of the fact that I lived on the “quatrième étage” – the 5th floor for all you Americans out there. With no elevator. And lots of stairs.

Sadly, one thing I never tried were macarons. I know, quel horreur. I should’ve. There’s something absolutely sacrilegious about the fact that I just never even thought of it; it’s right up there with the fact that I didn’t drink wine until much, much later. At all. None in France (wine country!) – absolutely zero until years later.

I had my first taste of the delightfully crispy (on the outside) yet sticky (on the inside) cookies a few weeks ago. This wonderful patisserie opened up recently, and after having caught a glimpse a week before (they were closed – merde!), I just had to try. And oh, am I glad I did. They were delicious. Scrumptious. Sweet in just the right way and in just the right amount. They were crispy and delicious. I tried one of each flavor – orange, chocolate, coffee, lemon, pistachio, and raspberry. I should’ve taken a picture, but I didn’t think about it until after I had eaten them all.

I returned this past weekend to the amazing patisserie, and I was not disappointed. I sampled a few more flavors – lavender (flowery, but in a good way! quite subtle.), salted caramel (sweet with a hint of salt at the end), rosewater (oh.my.gosh.), and of course, coffee. It was my favorite last time.

Because I live about an hour and a half away (one would think it a travesty to be so far away from such a wonderful place, but alas, my hips thank me), I don’t get to sample their fares as soon as they are available. And though their hours are quite accomodating, I sometimes just don’t make it there when they are open. Because so many people know about the deliciousness that is the macaron, they tend to sell out relatively quickly. If one waits until the end of the day to get a macaron, one will not have much of a selection to choose from – if there are any left.

Macarons – two lavender, one salted caramel. I’d be surprised if they make it through the day!

Moral of the story: enjoy a macaron when you’re in France or Manchester, NH. You’ll be glad you did.

What are you thinking?

