I love you, let’s color.

It’s the dreaded February 14, the day of love and hearts and all things red. In all of our 7+ years together, Hubby and I have never celebrated the holiday created by card and candy companies – we have always treated it (mostly) as any other day. “Happy Valentine’s Day,” smooch, “happy Valentine’s Day.” That’s it.

But with munchkin around now, and with him being in daycare (which I LOVE, by the way, and never thought I would – another story in itself), they exchange cards and make Valentine bags and make a big deal out of it. At almost 17 months old, he’s starting to be more aware of things being different on special days, and it works for me. Every day is different, every day is special in its own way. Might as well make as big of a deal out of it as we can!

So when I went grocery shopping last week I found that their selection of kids’ Valentines was rather decent and selected a box of Elmo cards – rather well-known, easy to spot, and decent messages as well. I don’t want to go into the provocative poses Elmo makes, or where my mind went with those. Seriously.

20130214-072805.jpg

20130214-072755.jpg

Now you had just better hope that the recipient feels the same as the giver, and that you really are friends. Awkward!

I had the amazing idea to pull my “creativity” out (aka, I saw a friend do the same thing and decided it was a good idea), and make crayons. Peeling the wrapping off of crayons is the absolute worst. Two 24-count boxes later, I filled the cookie trays (that will never be used for cookies) with broken crayon pieces.

20130214-073529.jpg

Baked at 275* for about 8 minutes, and carefully removed the tray from the oven. Liquid crayon.

20130214-072841.jpg

We let them set overnight, and then this morning I bagged everything up and added the card, et voilà! C’est magnifique!

20130214-073929.jpg

I am hoping that they are enjoyed by the other kiddos. I made sure to make the full tray’s worth, and that way munchkin has a couple as well. Besides – what kid doesn’t like to color???

Have you ever gone all out for a holiday you previously neglected because of someone else?

4 thoughts on “I love you, let’s color.

  1. My friend Aubrey passed this link along to me and I absolutely love it. What a great use of crayons. Was the tray easy to clean afterwards? Also – you’re right about that Elmo thing… definitely brings back Elmo and Katy Perry memories…. #toomuch

    • Glad you liked it!! I had sprayed the tray with a little bit of cooking oil – barely a dusting of it – so there was no residue left on the pan after popping out the crayons. Made the crayons a little slippery though, so I wiped them with a paper towel, and voilà! They were all set. My kiddo is 17 months, and loves coloring with them. You just never know what color is coming next! Thanks for visiting!

What are you thinking?

