A belated birthday wish.

Munchkin man turned two last Thursday. I just… yeah. Still speechless over this fact. He is an amazing boy, such a joy. He is cuddly and loving and smart and silly and wow, does he keep us running. He’s always moving, always doing something. He is very self-aware, and loves his “kitty brother.” He gives awesome kisses and when we’re in the grocery store and I’m struggling with the self-scan checkout line and the register is misbehaving and one of the people has to keep coming over to allow me to continue to ring up our groceries, he loves to pull on my arm and pull me in with both hands so he can just hug and hold on and not let go. I’m still in awe of the fact that he’s ours. I don’t need to give him back. I get to keep him. He’s ours. He’s half me, half hubby, and we don’t have to give him back. I had always dreamed of this day – the day that some little one would yell for me – “Mommy!!” – while I was still getting out of the shower in the morning, before it was time to get up, before the day had even begun – and I’d be happy and more-than-willing to go gather this sweet-smelling boy from his bed and kiss his still-warm cheeks and just live in the moment. I need to remember that he’s not little for long… to live in the moment. To enjoy the time we have while we have it, because, clichĂ© or not, he’s only little once, and it won’t be for long. To put down the electronics and play with the trains and make silly pictures and paint without worrying about getting dirty and dig in the sandbox and splash in the “cuddles” – the puddles – because it makes him happy. This love I feel for someone so small, so tiny, yet oh-so-big in personality and generosity – he gives me his favorite train to play with! – and kindness and love – this love I feel is boundless. It is never-ending. It is amazing, and makes my heart pound and skip a beat… literally. Who knew that the dreams I had years, years ago, would come to fruition in such an amazing way? This boy stole my heart just over two years ago, and has relentlessly held onto it since – and I’m okay with that. He’s my little man, my sunshine, my “babyman,” my munchkin, my monkey. He is my world. Happy birthday, monkey man.

One thought on “A belated birthday wish.

  1. Pingback: Happy (belated) Birthday Peyton! | The Brio

What are you thinking?

